Welcome to Carolinger – the idyllic hut village between Taunus and Lahn

Download here our cottage village – flyer:

Download flyer cottage village Carolinger

In March 2020, our cottage village was awarded three stars (accommodation of superior quality) from the German Hotel and Restaurant Association (Deutscher Hotel- und Gaststättenverband, DEHOGA).

Read more in our recent news release:

District Administrator Michael Köberle awards Carlos Merz a 3-star rating for cottage village Carolinger in Weyer

More news releases

Cottage village in Weyer attracts tourists

Cottage village Carolinger – an exceptional attraction

Chalets, apartments & café

Our hut village in Villmar-Weyer is located in the beautiful Laubustal am Taunus, surrounded by forest and meadows. Five separate chalets made of rustic alpine spruce. Next to it is our Stellahaus in 360 ° construction with four star-shaped apartments. New since summer 2021: the air-conditioned Hexa hut with six apartments. We also offer a family-friendly apartment. Due to the hillside location of Carolinger Hüttendorf you can relax on the small terraces in front of the chalets and enjoy nature with a great view. Breakfast is available from 06:00 a.m. in Café Carolinger. In summer you can have breakfast outside on a large balcony terrace. All baked goods are fresh from the oven because we have integrated a small village bakery into the café. The neighboring log house restaurant Wissegiggl with a great beer garden is open from Wednesday to Sunday.

Carolinger Hüttendorf Summer 2021

Directions

In terms of traffic, Weyer is 2 km away from the B8 between Bad Camberg and Limburg, quickly accessible via the A3. The Regional Express takes 55 minutes from the train station 2 km away to the Frankfurt / Messe main station. From Limburg Süd ICE train station, 10 km away, you can reach Frankfurt Airport in 20 minutes, Frankfurt Main Station in 30 minutes, Cologne Central Station in 55 minutes.

The Karolinger in Weyer

Weyer, who was first mentioned in 790 AD as “Villare” in a deed of donation from Emperor Charlemagne, was created in the Carolingian period in the Hintertaunus. In Weyer, archaeologists found Stone Age finds, pre-Christian burial grounds, burial mounds and ring walls dating back to the time of the Romans to the Bronze Age (2,200 BC). There were silver mines and numerous iron stone mines. Excavations and research by the State Office for the Protection of Monuments are still taking place near the early Roman camp at Alteburg between Weyer and Oberbruch. Weyer is located in the Hintertaunus in an idyllic low mountain landscape.

About us

Cottage village Carolinger: Vacationing close to nature near Taunus and Lahn.

Our cottage village is part of Villmar-Weyer and located in the beautiful Laubus Valley of the Taunus, surrounded by forests and meadows. For overnight stays, we offer rustic chalets build of solid timber as well as modern apartments. The culinary offer of Café Carolinger and the Wissegiggl restaurant, which was awarded for its authentic regional food by “Hessen à la carte” in 2020, complete the cottage village experience. The Taunus, Lahn and Westerwald region and its connection to the city centers of Frankfurt, Wiesbaden and Koblenz offer many opportunities to explore amusement parks, local museums, castles and palaces.

History

10 years ago, when owner Carlos Merz built the small Wissegiggl inn in the style of Canadian blockhouses as a “Greenfield Project”, nobody thought it would attract thousands of far travelling guests to feast, celebrate and eventually stay overnight in Weyer, which itself only has 1300 inhabitants. In 2010, the restaurant was initially constructed with tables for about 60 people and was soon after – due to high demand – expanded to accommodate up to 160 people. An unparalleled beer garden with kid’s corners and a minigolf course further upgraded the venue over the years. In 2018, an adjacent gardening compound was restructured to become a small holiday village with a café. Cottage village Carolinger has been in service since 2019 and has had a tremendous start since then – despite the problematic pandemic. Soon after, it was awarded 3 stars by the DEHOGA.

Founding

The initial idea to found the Wissegiggl inn was triggered by an all around decline of restaurants in rural areas. The founder wanted to counter that trend with a highly memorable concept “on the green grass”. The addition of the cottage village Carolinger nine years later was the logical consequence of the demand for a gastronomic offer combined with the option to stay overnight. Having worked as a salesman in Germany and Europe, the visited hotels gave the initiator lots of ideas what to do differently if he would ever get the chance to realize his own gastronomical concept. Maybe it was this collection of ideas that created the Wissegiggl restaurant and cottage village Carolinger.

To this day, the strategic development and operational management is still in the hands of the owner – with the family available to actively assist.

Our Strengths:

“Location, location, location” is an often heard phrase when talking about hotels: Our visitors may find it hard to imagine that 10 years ago, this exit of Weyer offered little more than meadows, a few gardens and a small stream. With nature, grassland and forests on one hand and the very good connection to important highways such as the A3 as well as the ICE train station, success was almost guaranteed at this seemingly unlikely location.

In the face of the seemingly unbeatable competition like pizza places, fast food restaurants and big hotel chains in the surrounding cities of today, an important, unique feature that was maintained from the start: keeping it local. The restaurant and the café put importance on a high value chain of self-made meals. Just recently, we started producing our own ice cream under the label “Gefrorenes Glück” (“Frozen Luck”) made from organic milk from a nearby village, and our cake is handmade in our own kitchen. All this are more building blocks for the “Hessen à la carte” award.

Realizing the many homemade meals requires a qualified, motivated kitchen team. We are very proud of our staff and such a dedicated, young service team.

Appealing to a great variety of guests, such as private or public groups, families, athletes, clubs and business travelers is of great importance to us and ensures a high occupancy rate.

Cottage village Carolinger’s characteristic feature: decentralized accommodations

Especially in today’s times, our guests appreciate the spatially divided chalets and apartments – all designed and arranged with a single floor at ground level. It gives our guests of positive feeling of solitude, inside as well as outside in front of their accommodations. This results in highly ranked hygiene and peacefulness compared to rooms in a conventional hotel.

The hillside allows the guests of cottage village Carolinger to relax on small terraces and enjoy nature with a great view. In the Summer, we also offer to eat breakfast outside on a big balcony terrace to enjoy the sunrise panorama.

What do our guests especially appreciate?

“For a hotel guest, the most important meal of the day is: breakfast!” That’s a wish we fulfill completely: in cottage village Carolinger, all pastries come fresh out of the oven of the village’s small bakery that’s been integrated into the café. The local ministry and its staff make jam for a good cause, we get honey from the Laubustal, free-range eggs from our own chicken coop (yes, 30 chickens are on-site), sausages from a farmer in a nearby village who butchers and seasons the meat without preservatives. Goat cheese from a small Westerwald Fromagerie and organic milk from the nearby monastery estate Gnadental.

What does our staff especially appreciate?

Unlike many rural hotels, we have no staff shortage. There’s always demand to work for us. The staff appreciates the anything but authoritarian management structure, which requires a high level of autonomy and a team-oriented work approach. Remarkably, almost half of our staff comes to work by foot or on bike, because they live in the small district of Weyer. Besides fair pay, we offer flexible working hours which (for example) allow young mothers to align their job with us with their nursery school.

Our strategic goals:

  • First, we will construct our “Hexahütte” in the first half of 2021 and put it into operation – a new, twelve-cornered block house consisting of six decentralized accommodations. For construction, we only use allergy free insulating material. All timber is of certified, sustainable origin.
  • In the medium term, we plan to construct another building that’s suitable for seniors. It will contain a swimming pool and a sauna as well as physiotherapy. The spa and health services will also be available for the hotel guests, which will allow us to move on from 3-star rating from DEHOGA to a 4-star rating.
  • Until then, we plan to use a mobile sauna, which is a pilot experiment with a resourceful Frankish hotel guest with an apparatus construction company
  • These strategic constructional expansions go hand in hand with our sustainability goals: to create as little discard as possible and establish accountable, regional supply chains. Heat and electricity should be supplied by our on-site solar power system as well as our solar thermal and battery storage device. Additional electricity from CO2 free sources exclusively.

Examples for our environmental, regional and sustainable approach

  • Certified Green-Sign business: Quality seal for hotel businesses operating sustainable based on environmental factors
  • Certified restaurant Wissegiggl for “Hessen à la carte”: Kitchen offering regional and seasonal meals
  • Local suppliers for meat, cheese, jam and honey
  • “Gefrorenes Glück”: Our own line of ice cream made from organic milk from the area
  • Our own yogurt for our breakfast guests, made from organic milk from the Taunus
  • Our own chickens (about 30) live in open air pens and on soilage
  • Mineral and natural water are bottled in-house, springs are located in Weyer at the nature park Hochtaunus near Goldener Grund
  • On-site bakery refrains from using preservatives for all pastries
  • A photovoltaic power system (80kWp) and battery storage (140kw) make for 65% clean energy on site
  • Sister companies are active exclusively in the electricity industry, specifically wind, biomass and solar energy
  • Rainwater processing for the on-site laundry reduces fresh water usage
  • Paperless check-in and check-out possible
  • Electric car charger with two speedloader stations on site (30KW each)
  • Rentable e-bikes charged with electricity from the photovoltaic power system
  • Avoiding the use of plastic bottles, packaging and cups
  • Food waste minimization: leftover soilage for our chickens, bread and buns for own in-house breading and breadcrumbs
  • More than 50% of our staff is from our municipal, Villmar. We support joint staff activites as well as further education, offer flexible working hours for mothers and conduct our own idea programs
  • We are members of the DEHOGA Hessen to support sustainable, local restaurants and hotels
  • We are committed to the village’s sports and culture clubs

Latest news: Electric car at Carolinger, Eve Double Pro Line

We have an electric car charger with two charging outlets on site. Each outlet has a charging capacity of 22KW (32 Ampere).

Our guests are offered the special price of 0.28€/kWh. This rate can be accessed on site with your ATM card. The rate does not apply for external company cards.

2019 © Copyright - Carolinger GmbH & Co. KG

Willkommen beim Carolinger – dem idyllischen Hüttendorf zwischen Taunus und Lahn

Laden Sie hier unseren Hüttendorf – Flyer herunter:

Download Flyer Hüttendorf Carolinger

Im März 2020 wurde unser Hüttendorf durch den Deutschen Hotel- und Gaststättenverband (DEHOGA) mit drei Sternen (Unterkunft für gehobene Ansprüche) ausgezeichnet.

Lesen Sie mehr dazu in der aktuellen Pressemitteilung:

Landrat Michael Köberle überreicht Carlos Merz 3-Sterne Klassifizierung für das Carolinger Hüttendorf in Weyer

Weitere Pressemitteilungen

Hüttendorf in Weyer zieht die Touris an

Carolinger Hüttendorf eine besondere Attraktion

Chalets, Appartments & Café

Unser Hüttendorf in Villmar-Weyer liegt im schönen Laubustal am Taunus, umrandet von Wald und Wiesen. Fünf separate Chalets aus uriger alpiner Fichte massiv gefertigt. Daneben befindet sich unser Stellahaus in 360°-Bauweise mit vier sternförmigen Wohnungen. Neu ab Sommer 2021: die klimatisierte Hexahütte mit sechs Appartement. Außerdem bieten wir eine familienfreundliche Ferienwohnung an. Durch die Hanglage des Carolinger Hüttendorfs können Sie vor den Chalets auf kleinen Terrassen relaxen und die Natur mit toller Aussicht genießen.  Frühstück gibt es bei uns ab 06:00 Uhr im Café Carolinger. Im Sommer können Sie auf einer großen Balkonterrasse im Freien frühstücken. Alle Backwaren sind ofenfrisch, weil wir eine kleine Dorfbäckerei in das Café integriert haben. Von Mittwoch bis Sonntag ist das benachbarte Blockhaus-Restaurant Wissegiggl mit tollem Biergarten geöffnet.

Carolinger Hüttendorf im Sommer 2021

Verkehrsanbindung

Verkehrstechnisch liegt Weyer 2 km entfernt von der B8 zwischen Bad Camberg und Limburg, schnell erreichbar über die A3. Der Regionalexpress benötigt vom 2 km entfernten Bahnhof 55 Minuten zum Hbf Frankfurt/Messe. Vom 10 km entfernten ICE Bahnhof Limburg Süd erreicht man in 20 Minuten den Flughafen Frankfurt, 30 Minuten Hbf Frankfurt, 55 Minuten Hbf Köln.

Die Karolinger in Weyer

Weyer, das 790 n. Chr. erstmals als „Villare“ in einer Schenkungsurkunde Kaiser Karls des Großen genannt wird, entstand in der Zeit der Karolinger im Hintertaunus. In Weyer fanden Archäologen Steinzeitfunde, vorchristliche Gräberfelder, Hügelgräber und Ringwälle die zurückreichen bis zur Zeit der Römer bis zur Bronzezeit (2.200 v. Chr.) So gab es Silbergruben und zahlreiche Eisensteingruben. Noch aktuell finden Ausgrabungen und Forschungen des Landesamtes für Denkmalschutz in der Nähe der des frührömischen Lager Alteburg zwischen Weyer und Oberbrechen statt. Weyer liegt im Hintertaunus in einer idyllischen Mittelgebirgslandschaft.

Unser Leitbild

Das Carolinger Hüttendorf: Naturnahes Reisen an Taunus und Lahn.

Unser Hüttendorf in Villmar-Weyer liegt im schönen Laubustal am Taunus, umrandet von Wald und Wiesen. Wir bieten sowohl urige Chalets aus Massivholz als auch moderne Appartements zum Übernachten an. Abgerundet wird unser Hüttendorf mit dem kulinarischen Angebot des Café Carolinger und dem Restaurant Wissegiggl, das für seine Regionalität von „Hessen à la carte“ im Jahr 2020 ausgezeichnet wurde. Für unsere Gäste gibt es zwischen Taunus, Lahn und Westerwald mit Anbindung an die Zentren Frankfurt, Wiesbaden und Koblenz viele kleine Freizeitparks, heimatliche Museen oder Burgen und Schlösser zu erkunden.

Historie

Als der Inhaber Carlos Merz das kleine Wirtshaus Wissegiggl im Stil eines kanadischen Blockhauses vor 10 Jahren als „Greenfield Projekt“ baute, glaubte niemand, dass in dem 1.300 „Seelenort“ Weyer mal tausende von weitanreisenden Gästen speisen, feiern und später übernachten würden. In 2010 wurde das Restaurant zunächst mit etwa 60 Plätzen errichtet und wenig später – aufgrund der hohen Nachfrage – auf etwa 160 Plätze erweitert. Ein unvergleichlicher Biergarten mit Spielecken für Kinder und später ein Minigolf-Platz auf Naturrasen ergänzten das Lokal nach und nach. In 2018 wurde ein benachbartes Gartengelände zu einem kleinen Feriendorf mit Café umgeplant. Das Carolinger Hüttendorf wurde im Jahr 2019 in Betrieb genommen und hat seitdem – trotz aller Widrigkeiten der Pandemie – einen sehr erfolgreichen Start hingelegt und wurde kurze Zeit später von der DEHOGA bereits mit 3 Sternen ausgezeichnet.

Gründung:

Auslösende Idee für ein Wirtshaus Wissegiggl war das allgemeine Gaststätten-sterben auf dem Lande. Der Gründer wollte hier ein Konzept mit hohem Wieder-erkennungswert „auf der grünen Wiese“ gegen den Trend etablieren. Dass neun Jahre später das Carolinger Hüttendorf dazu kam, war die logische Folge aus dem Bedarf an Ort und Stelle ein integriertes gastronomisches Angebot mit Übernachtungen anzubieten. Als langjähriger Geschäftsreisender durch Deutschland und Europa hatte der Initiator eine Menge Anregungen, was er bei den besuchten Hotels anders machen würde, wenn er denn mal die Chance hätte ein eigenes Gastrokonzept zu gründen. Vielleicht war diese Ideen-sammlung der Auslöser für Restaurant Wissegiggl und Carolinger Hüttendorf.

Bis heute liegt die strategische Entwicklung und die operative Betriebsführung bei dem Inhaber – selbst für die aktive Mitarbeit steht die Familie stets zur Verfügung

Unsere Stärken:

„Lage, Lage, Lage“ heißt es ja immer bei Hotels: Wer uns besucht, kann sich fast nicht vorstellen, dass man hier vor 10 Jahren am Dorfausgang von Weyer nur einen Wiesengrund mit ein paar Gärten und dem kleinen Bachlauf vorfand. Einerseits die Natur mit Wiesen und Wäldern, andererseits eine sehr kurze Anbindung zu den großen Verkehrsstraßen wie A3 oder ICE-Bahnhof waren ein Erfolgsgarant für diesen gewagten Standort.

Ein wichtiges Alleinstellungsmerkmal, was wir gegen die heute scheinbar „übermächtige Konkurrenz von Pizzerien, Fastfood und großen Hotels in den umliegenden Städten verfolgten, war von Anfang an „auf das Prinzip Regionalität“ zu setzen. Sowohl das Restaurant als auch das Café verfolgen eine hohe Wertschöpfungskette selbstgemachter Speisen. Zuletzt starteten wir unsere eigene Eiscreme-Herstellung unter der Marke „Gefrorenes Glück“ mit Biomilch aus dem Nachbarort und unser Kuchen ist handgemacht in der eigenen Küche sind weitere Bausteine für unsere Hessen-a-la carte Auszeichnung.

Zur Umsetzung der vielen hausgemachten Speisen braucht es ein qualifiziertes Küchenteam, die motiviert an die Sache gehen. Auf diese Mitarbeiter und ein sehr engagiertes, junges Serviceteam sind wir stolz.

Wir halten es für wichtig mit einer breit angelegten Ansprache von Gästeprofilen, wie z.B. diverse private und öffentliche Gesellschaftsgruppen, Familien, Sportler, Vereine und Geschäftsreisende unsere Auslastung sicherzustellen.

Die Besonderheit unseres Carolinger Hüttendorfs: dezentrale Unterkünfte

Gerade in diesen Zeiten schätzen unsere Gäste die räumlich getrennten Chalets und Appartements – alles ebenerdig ohne Etagen angeordnet. Damit haben die Gäste ein positives Gefühl „für sich zu sein“, sowohl drinnen als auch draußen vor den Unterkünften Hieraus ergibt sich ein hohes Ranking bei Hygiene und Ruhe im Vergleich zu Unterkünften einem konventionellen Hotelblock.

Durch die Hanglage des Carolinger Hüttendorfs können sich die Gäste vor den Chalets auf kleinen Terrassen relaxen und die Natur mit toller Aussicht genießen.  Im Sommer bieten wir zusätzlich an, auf einer großen Balkonterrasse im Freien zu frühstücken und das Sonnenpanorama zu genießen.

Was schätzen unsere Gäste besonders? 

„Für einen Hotelgast ist es das wichtigste Essen am Tage: Frühstück!“ Diesen Wunsch erfüllen wir bestens: im Carolinger Hüttendorf sind alle Backwaren ofenfrisch, weil wir eine kleine Dorfbäckerei in das Café integriert haben. Marmelade vom ansässigen Pfarramt und deren Mitarbeitern für den guten Zweck hergestellt, Honig aus dem Laubustal, Freilandeier aus unserem eigenen Hühnerstall (ja, wir haben 30 Hühner am Standort), Wurst vom Bauern aus dem Nachbarort, der noch selbst schlachtet und ohne Konservierungsstoffe würzt. Der Ziegenkäse aus einer kleinen Fromagerie aus dem Westerwald und Biomilch vom nahe-gelegenen Klosterhofgut Gnadental.

Was schätzen unsere Mitarbeiter an Ihrem Arbeitgeber?

Im Gegensatz zu vielen Landhotels haben wir keinen Mangel an Personal. Es gibt ständig Nachfrage nach unseren Arbeitsplätzen. Die Mitarbeiter schätzen unsere alles andere als autoritäre Führungsstruktur, die eine hohe Eigen-verantwortung verlangt und ein teamorientiertes Miteinander pflegt. Bemerkenswert, dass von unseren Mitarbeitern fast 50% zu Fuß oder mit dem Fahrrad zur Arbeit kommen, weil sie im kleinen Ortsteil Weyer wohnen. Neben fair bezahlten Arbeitsplätzen bieten wir flexible Arbeitszeiten, sodass z.B. junge Mütter ihren Job bei uns und die Kitazeiten miteinander abstimmen können.

Unsere strategischen Ziele:

  • Zunächst werden wir im ersten Halbjahr 2021 unsere „Hexahütte“ – ein neues 12-eckiges Blockhaus mit sechs dezentralen Unterkünften – bauen und in Betrieb nehmen. Bei der Bauweise wird nur allergiefreies Dämmmaterial verwendet. Alles Bauholz ist auf nachhaltige Waldbewirtschaftung hin zertifiziert.
  • Mittelfristig ist geplant, ein weiteres Gebäude mit seniorengerechtem Wohnen am Standort zu bauen. Dort soll ein Schwimmbad mit Sauna integriert als auch eine Physiotherapie angesiedelt werden. Sowohl der Wellness- als auch die Gesundheitsdienstleistungen wären dann auch für die Hotelgäste verfügbar. Damit könnten wir uns von 3 auf 4 Dehoga-Sterne weiter entwickeln.
  • Bis es soweit ist planen wir eine mobile Sauna, ein Pilotprojekt gemeinsam mit einem fränkischen Hotelgast, der eine Apparatebaufirma betreibt und sehr erfinderisch ist.
  • Diese strategischen, baulichen Erweiterungen sind gepaart mit unseren Nachhaltigkeitszielen möglichst wenig Ausschuss zu produzieren, nach-vollziehbare regionale Lieferantenketten aufzubauen, Logistik- und Transport-wege zu minimieren. Heizung und Elektrizität soll möglichst aus unseren hauseigenen PV-Anlagen, solarthermischen und Batteriespeichern gedeckt werden. Der Zukauf von Strom über CO2-freie Bezugsquellen.

Beispiele für unser ökologische, regionale und nachhaltige Ausrichtung:

  • Zertifizierte Betrieb Green-Sign: Gütesiegel für nachhaltig agierende Hotelbetriebe basierend auf Ökologie, Umweltmanagement und sozialer Entwicklung
  • Zertifizierter Betrieb Restaurant Wissegiggl: Hessen à la carte: heimische Gerichte und Saisonalität in der Küche
  • Regionale Lieferanten bei Fleisch, Käse, Marmelade und Honig
  • „Gefrorenes Glück“: eigene Eisherstellung mit Biomilch aus der Nähe
  • Eigene Joghurtherstellung mit Biomilch aus dem Taunus für unsere Frühstücksgäste
  • Eigener Hühner (ca. 30) in Freilandgehegen und Grünfutter
  • Mineralwasser mit Sprudel oder naturell mit eigener Hausabfüllung, Quellen Weyer, am Naturpark Hochtaunus zum Goldenen Grund
  • Hauseigene Bäckerei verzichtet auf Konservierungsstoffe bei Backwaren
  • Photovoltaik-Anlagen (80 kWp) und Batteriespeicherung (140 kW) führen zu 65% Grünstrom vor Ort.
  • Schwesterunternehmen sind ausschließlich im Bereich Stromerzeugung Windkraft, Biomasse und Solarenergie tätig
  • Regenwasseraufbereitung für hauseigene Wäscherei zur Reduzierung von Frischwasserverbrauch
  • papierloses Ein- und Ausschecken möglich
  • E-Tankstelle mit zwei Schnell-Ladestionen vor Ort (je 30 KW).
  • E-Bikes für Gäste zum Verleih mit Ladestrom aus PV-Anlage
  • Vermeidung von Kunststoff-Flaschen, Verpackung und Gläsern
  • Ausschuss-Minimierung bei Lebensmitteln: Resteverwertung Grünabfälle für unsere Hühner, Brötchen- u. Brotüberschüsse für hauseigenes Paniermehl und Brotkrummets verwenden
  • Über 50% der Mitarbeiter kommen aus unserer Gemeinde Villmar, wir fördern gemeinsame Aktionen der Belegschaft wie Weiterbildung, flexible Arbeitszeiten für Mütter und wir führen eigene Ideenprogramme durch
  • Wir sind im Mitglied bei der DEHOGA Hessen zur nachhaltigen Unterstützung der heimischen Gastro- und Hotel-Betriebe
  • Wir engagieren uns für dörfliche Sport- und Kulturvereine

Aktuelles: E-Ladesäule am Carolinger Eve Double Pro Line

Wir haben eine E-Ladestation für Autos mit zwei Ladesteckdosen im Einsatz. Die Ladeleistung pro Steckdose beträgt 22 KW (32 Ampere).

Vorzugspreis für unsere Gäste 28 ct/kWh. Diesen Tarif können Sie über Ihre EC-Karte vor Ort abrufen. Der Tarif gilt nicht für externe Firmenkarten.

2019 © Copyright - Carolinger GmbH & Co. KG